Eugene Richards. The Run-On of Time

Autor

Wydawca

Data wydania

Ilość stron

Język

Okładka

Format

ISBN

215.00 

1 w magazynie

Opis

The first publication to situate the work of Richards in the long photographic tradition that merges personal artistic vision with documentary practice.

Eugene Richards (b. 1944) is a documentary photographer known for his powerful, unflinching exploration of contemporary social issues from the early 1970s to the present. This handsome book is the first comprehensive and critical look at Richards’s lifelong achievements.

Reproduced in tritone and color, the extraordinary images in this volume explore complicated and controversial subjects, including racism, poverty, drug addiction, cancer, aging, the effects of war and terrorism, and the erosion of rural America. The authors of the book situate Richards’s work in the long photographic tradition that merges personal artistic vision with documentary practice, following in the tradition of W. Eugene Smith and Robert Frank.

***

Eugene Richards (ur. 1944) jest autorem fotografii dokumentalnych, znanym z odważnego poruszania problemów społecznych, od początku lat 70. ubiegłego wieku do dzisiaj.

Album jest pierwszym wyczerpującym i krytycznym spojrzeniem na wszystkie dotychczasowe osiągnięcia Richardsa. Zawiera trichromie i kolorowe reprodukcje jego obrazów zgłębiających skomplikowane i kontrowersyjne tematy takie jak rasizm, bieda, narkomania, ciężkie choroby, starzenie się, skutki wojny i terroryzmu. Autorzy książki umieszczają pracę Richardsa w kontekście długiej fotograficznej tradycji, która łączy osobistą wizję artystyczną z procesem tworzenia dokumentów. Przywołują w tym celu prace innych znanych fotografów amerykańskich – W. Eugene’a Smitha i Roberta Franka.